Thank You Marisa & Gillian!

As the end of the year draws near, some of us may be reminiscing moments lost and gone. Timely are these favourite quotes of Marisa and Gillian, reminding us about ‘following your heart’ and ‘seize the day’.  Today, we seize the moment to say THANK YOU to these ladies of Mount Pleasant Vet Centre (Changi). Marisa has been with our big family for 20 years!


marisa-pictures2

“I studied nursing in university but was unable to attend the final exam due to an untimely bout of chicken pox. Refocusing my studies on laboratory work instead, I eventually graduated as a medical technologist and was introduced to Mount Pleasant (Whitley) by a friend. I have enjoyed working with clients, colleagues and animals for the past 20 years.” ~ Marisa of Mount Pleasant Vet Centre (Changi)

marisa-pictures

“My paternal grandfather motivated me to be strong and independent. Being a man of the older generation with traditional ideologies, he strongly believed that a woman’s place is at home as a daughter, wife or mother taking care of the family instead of receiving education or joining the workforce. Moreover, with 7 siblings, money was scarce. As one of the eldest, I was determined to break out of this tradition and give my younger siblings a better life.”

img_5146

“Cooking and gardening are my passion. Making delicious food for family and friends to enjoy from ingredients grown with love puts a smile on my face. Something few people know about me? I am a huge fan of Korean dramas! Doctor Stranger is my newest favorite; the plot is great and lead actor Lee Jong-Suk is very professional.”

12391134_457766191096756_3259395677580857990_n

“If I have the resources, I would love to engage in charity work. Helping the poor, caring for the sick or providing education to those who need it are different ways to give back to society. In the mean time I strive to do at least one act of kindness everyday, no matter how small the gesture may be.” Marisa with colleagues from Mount Pleasant Vet Centre (Gelenggang) at our Christmas celebration.

img_5822

“It is most rewarding when everyone from vets to technicians and nurses work seamlessly together as a team.” Marisa with Teri, Dr Pauline Fong, Dorothy and Dr Clara Chua.

I have a poster in my room that reads Seize the Day: Do not grieve over the past, for it is gone. Do not worry about the future, for it is yet to come. As long as it is called TODAY, live this day as if it was your last, and you will find each day worth living for!”. This is what I live by.

img_9132

ACS student attachment programme at Mount Pleasant (Changi). Dorothy, Dr Eric Yeoh, Michael, Marisa, Wella, Dr Tan Choon Yi.

img_8473

Part of our Mount Pleasant (Changi) family, past and present.


gill6

“When I was a kid, I knew from the start I wanted to work with animals. I joined Mount Pleasant in November 2015.” ~ Gillian of Mount Pleasant Vet Centre (Changi)

gill5

“Back then, there wasn’t any particular reason other than the fact that I love animals and always dreamt of being around them. Working in this industry seems more than perfect for me. Now that I’m older, knowing that we are able to help these animals who aren’t entirely able to help themselves, makes my job more meaningful.”

14909933_568487220024652_9040172626688966335_n

World’s cutest polar bear dog spotted at Mount Pleasant (Changi)! Baby Naga was the runt of a stray litter, rejected by mom barely a week after birth. She was crying in a pile of junk when Gillian found her, just hours before it poured. “First 2 weeks was tough. Naga had to be bottle-fed with puppy milk formula every 2 hours. After each feeding, I had to massage her genital area until she urinates and defecates. Now her eyes are opened, she can eliminate on her own. She drinks milk every 4 hours and prefers a human baby milk bottle!”

gill6

“My mum has always been a hundred percent supportive of me pursuing my dream to work with animals. She knew it was what I’ve always wanted to do.”

gill10

“She was the one who encouraged me to apply for the Veterinary Technology course in Temasek Polytechnic. That was beginning of my entire journey right up till today.”

gill4

“One thing I would really love to do is to swim with sea otters! One thing few people know about me? ‘Keeping Up with The Kardashians’ is my guilty pleasure!”

gill3

gill8 Gillian with her best friends Benji and Vapour. Benji is a Mount Pleasant Hero!

I love this quote from John Grogan, Marley and Me: “A person can learn a lot from a dog, even a loopy one like ours. Marley taught me about living each day with unbridled exuberance and joy, about seizing the moment and following your heart. He taught me to appreciate the simple things-a walk in the woods, a fresh snowfall, a nap in a shaft of winter sunlight. And as he grew old and achy, he taught me about optimism in the face of adversity. Mostly, he taught me about friendship and selflessness and, above all else, unwavering loyalty.”

Share your thoughts ...

